Why Blog?

28 Feb

8

Since I’ve been blogging for a long time now, I thought it might be a good idea to reflect on, well, blogging.

I’ve learned a few things about the blogging process:

1. It’s therapeutic.

I can get out any frustration or stress simply by writing about it.

And I don’t even have to feel selfish about projecting that frustration and stress onto my readers because they have probably felt it some days too.

That’s the great thing about writing a blog about first year university experiences…the people that are reading it probably know what I’m going through.

My hope is that by using humour and sharing what’s going on in my life that someone reading will let go of some of their frustration and stress as well.

It’s good to be able to help people…and vent.

2. It’s a challenge.

I don’t always know what to write about. And writer’s block is one of the most annoying phenomena known to man.

But I’ve learned that you can take even the most insignificant experience and tell it in a way that makes it entertaining and gives it some meaning. And this is a good way to appreciate the little things in life that we probably take for granted.

Never before would I have stopped to really consider why there are so many deer around.

3. It’s helpful.

I had never written a blog before I started this one a few short months ago. And I already feel like I’ve gotten used to writing in this format, which is a new skill.

It’s interesting because I was always used to writing so formally in school, but with blogging I could really be free with it.

I apologize if sometimes I got a little too carried away with that freedom…I make a lot of bad jokes (but I can’t help it).

So all in all, I would just like to say to anyone out there thinking about starting their own blog…DO IT.

You won’t regret it.

Who wouldn’t want to keep an online journal filled with personal experiences that everyone could read…

And then laugh at…

And then realize that they can totally relate to what that person is blogging about?

No one.

Leave a Reply

