The Things I’ve Learned…

28 Feb

I can’t believe it.

I’ve almost survived my first year of university…

…and I’ve overcome some serious challenges along the way:

I conquered exams…

I didn’t fail any courses…

And I figured out how to use a washing machine.

1

 I found my way to all my classes on the first day…

I figured out how to write a good, university essay…

And I learned that coffee is a necessary study aid when you pull an all-nighter (probably to write those essays).

2

 I mastered the shortcuts around campus…

I made the basketball team…

And I learned that it is actually necessary to read over Reading Week, (unless you want the following week to be the most stressful of your life!).

3

I found out that textbooks can be useful (and expensive)…

I avoided the Freshman 15 by going to the gym…

And I learned how to fix a toilet.

4

I got through a couple of bad grades…

I got a job writing this blog…

And I’ve learned that you absolutely should not procrastinate (I just haven’t applied that knowledge yet).

5

I’ve learned that I am capable of adapting to new situations…

I found out that I can handle university-level assignments…

And I learned that there are way too many deer around campus for it NOT to be unusual.

6

 I figured out how to make pasta…

I learned how to mop floors…

And I was forced to clean a toilet for the first time in my life.

7

Yup, it’s been a productive six months.

I finally feel like I’ve gotten the hang of university classes and living on my own.

And I’ve got to say, it feels pretty good to be more independent.

I feel really grown up…maybe even a little old.

But that’s okay, because the experiences that I’ve had have been worth it.

It’s incredible to think that there’s just two more months left in the school year.

Then it’ll be summer break and soon after that I’ll be back for my SECOND year.

Man, time flies.

If there are any other university students out there reading this, I’d love to know what you learned about your first year…

Leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

