Why is it so cold?

25 Jan

ice

Wow, it’s been cold lately.

Like, wind chill warnings and temperatures way, WAY down in the minuses kind of weather.

It’s weird because I’ve lived in Canada all my life, so I’m used to this kind of thing.

But I think I’ve been kind of sheltered from it until now.

In high school, I always had the luxury of being driven to school in a nice, heated car, or waking up and finding that my dad had already warmed up and scraped the ice off of my car for me.

I didn’t really have to walk to school a whole lot in the winter in those days.

But now, I have to walk everywhere.

Which is fine, it’s only a few minutes to walk across campus. But in the weather we’ve been having lately…it’s been tough.

My dad says that this cold is a good thing because it’s another incentive for me not to take up smoking.

I can always count on him for a different take on things.

But seriously though, I didn’t wear gloves the other day and I thought my fingers were going to fall off.

It seems like all I do is talk about the cold with people these days.

They say: “It’s soooooo cold!”

I nod and say: “Sooooooo cold!”

And then we can’t say anything else because we’re shivering too much.

However, I did have an interesting conversation with my roommate today. She’s from Nigeria and she asked me how long Canadian winters usually last.

I said that it all depends on whether or not the groundhog sees his shadow.

Yeah…I know, it’s a good quality joke, but it didn’t really land.

She had no idea what I was talking about.

I had to explain what Groundhog Day was, so my joke was pretty much dead and the situation got awkward.

Seriously, imagine yourself saying: “Well, here in Canada we have Groundhog Day where a bunch of people wait around for a groundhog to come out of its hole and if it sees its shadow, then we’ll have six more weeks of winter and if it doesn’t, then we’ll have an early spring.”

She thought I was nuts.

I told her to Google it.

groundhog

 

Leave a Reply

