What More Can I Say?

6 Jan

I encountered a small problem over the holidays.

 I saw a lot of my relatives, and everybody seems to want to ask the one question that I don’t know how to answer in more than one word.

Here it is:

“How’s school going?”

Simple enough question.

Clearly meant to be a conversation starter.

Understandable, too, since the first thing that my family will think of when they see me is that I went off to university a few months ago.

Here’s my answer:

“Good.”

*smile & nod*

A simple answer to a simple question.

But…

What comes next?

In my experience, next comes an awkward moment of silence in which you think to yourself: “What now?”

HOW DO YOU FOLLOW THAT UP?

It’s such a broad and open-ended question.

It also usually ends a conversation, rather than starting it.

So why does it happen so often?

It really makes me wonder.

thinking

The first time that I encountered this problem was back in October when I went home for my high school graduation.

I saw all of my friends, their parents, and my teachers….and every one of them asked me that same question.

I saw one of my favourite teachers and started talking to him.

The first thing he asked me was how school was going. I said good.

We stared awkwardly at each other for a moment not saying anything.

I just know he was wondering how one of his best students became such a great conversationalist.

Then, my best friend and I started talking to the mom of another one of our friends and she asked us: “How’s school going?”

We said good, and that awkward silence ensued.

My friend then started smiling and said, “What do you say after that!?” and we all had a good laugh.

Sure, an awkward situation was avoided, but the supposed conversation starter still failed.

Then I get home for the holidays and I see my uncle.

He asks: “How’s school going?”

I say: “Good.”

He looks at me and says: “That’s all I get?”

madbro

Well, yes…because apparently even though I go to the University of Toronto, get good grades, and am fairly intelligent, I still don’t know how to move on from that.

And it wasn’t just my uncle, either.

I got asked that question by a lot of my relatives.

My parents ask me every time I talk to them.

And I’d just like to point one thing out.

I learned over the holidays (to my utter shock) that they all read my blogs.

So I have a question for you, family:

If you read my blogs (about my first year experiences), why do you need to ask me how school’s going?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

