What Does That Say?

19 Dec

I feel like I’m studying my life away.

It’s exhausting.

There’s so much material to get through in university.

And it’s always bothered me how many hours you put in studying tons of content when you will only actually be tested on a very small portion of it.

It’s like when the line for Timmies is so incredibly long that you wait in it for what seems like forever, and you only end up getting a small coffee. You will probably drink that coffee faster than that lined moved.

Or when you go to an amusement park (let’s say Canada’s Wonderland, since I’m in Toronto), and you wait in line for hours to ride a rollercoaster. You wait 2 hours to get on a ride that lasts less than a minute.

Is it worthwhile? I don’t know.

But unfortunately with exams, you can’t just get out of line and get on with your life.

You can’t just NOT write them…unless you want to fail.

All of this goes through my head when I try and study. Yes, my outlook on life gets pretty negative when I get tired.

But last night while reading in my bio textbook, I saw something that at first, confused me, (I had to re-read a few times before I believed it was actually there on the page), but then made me laugh.

I was reading about a mass extinction that happened millions of years ago where over 90% of species were killed….here’s what it said:

Image

Ok…what?

Why’d it have to get personal?

“…it would be like 9 of your 10 best friends dying” ??????

Ok. For one thing, I don’t think I’ve ever been close enough to any animal species on this planet where if they went extinct, it would feel like 9 of my best friends just died.

Secondly, they’re including some early plant and fungi species in that extinction as well. I have never been more attached to a plant or fungi species than my best friends.

I laughed about that to myself for a while…

…then I told myself to stop laughing and get serious again.

But…

I got a little further down the page and read this:

Image

“…but the butler didn’t do it.”

Hahahaha. Wow. I love it.

My textbook’s makin’ jokes.

Best. Study. Break. Ever.

Works Cited

Freeman, S., Harrington, M., and Sharp, J. Biological Science. New Jersey: Pearson, 2011.

Leave a Reply

