What do you do when you just don’t know what to do?

21 Nov

So I’ve been trying really hard not to blog only about how stressed out I am…(because I think it adds to my stress level…and makes me sound like a broken record).

But the sad truth is, first year life is all about stress.

You have to learn how to manage your stress…or you’ll explode.

You have to learn that stress can’t rule your life…or you’ll be miserable.

And you definitely have to learn that stress IS conquerable…(trust me).

I know now, after having been in university for 3 months, that how well you’re going to do academically depends a lot upon how you deal with stress.

I’m sorry if me talking about stress is reminding you of your own stress, but I’m partly writing this to remind myself that I can beat my stress…

It’s a pep talk in a blog for you and me!

Perhaps I should explain what I’m stressing out about.

Next week, I have 3 essays due, a group presentation, and a test.

Yeah. It’s a lot. I know.

But surprisingly, the thing that’s stressing me out the most is the essay part.

I’m usually good at writing (which is why I was surprised)…but I encountered my archenemy yesterday while trying to write an outline for one of my essays: the evil Writer’s Block.

Man, writer’s block is one of my biggest pet peeves.

It’s soooooo annoying when you know what you need to do, but the words won’t come.

I was incredibly frustrated.

I tried to take a 10-minute break, hoping to clear my head.

That didn’t work.

I thought, maybe taking a couple minutes to listen to my favourite song would help.

It didn’t.

I tried taking a walk to Tim Horton’s…you know, to get fresh air and donuts…a surefire combination to beat stress, right?

Wrong.

But then, it hit me.

The solution was so obvious! I just had to look at the facts:

Fact #1) I love to play sports.

Fact #2) Basketball always makes me feel relaxed.

Fact #3) I like to work out.

Ding, ding, ding…hello!!! Go to the gym, dummy!

So I went to the RAWC, burned some of my useless, restless energy on the elliptical, then pumped a little iron to make me feel a little stronger and a little more confident.

When I was done, I felt totally recovered from my stress and frustration.

I didn’t get my whole essay done that day, but at least I felt better and more positive about it after hitting the gym….and I no longer felt like my brain was about to explode.

So the next time you’re stuck, and you’re banging you’re head against your keyboard, and you just want to take your laptop and throw it at a wall…don’t.

Do something that makes you feel good.

It doesn’t have to be the gym…but think about the places that make you feel the most relaxed or the activities that calm you down and….well….just go there and do it!

Take it from me…it works!

What do you do to rid yourself of writer’s block? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

