Eighteen…or Eighty?

9 Nov

Today was not my day.

As a student, there are times (lots of times) when I feel tired, overworked, and like there just aren’t enough minutes in a day.

Translation: I sometimes feel really old. Like OLD WOMAN old. Like I’m 80 instead of just 18.

I felt especially old today.

First of all, I woke up with all kinds of sore muscles from having six days straight of basketball practices and games.

Then, because of all my basketball lately, I was in desperate need of clean laundry. I have special socks that I wear only for basketball, and I had no more clean pairs. I knew that I would need a pair for my next game, not to mention a clean jersey, so I did a load of laundry.

Now I know what you’re thinking…

The next thing I’m going to say is that I shrunk all of my clothes, or that I lost some socks, or that I dyed everything funny colours…but you would be wrong.

Nope…you’re giving this old lady way, WAY too much credit.

You’re assuming that my dirty socks actually made it into my load of laundry…which they didn’t.

Yes that’s right…I left all of my dirty socks in my gym bag and forgot to get them out and put them with my dirty clothes. So when I went to do my laundry…no socks. And I didn’t notice until after.

So the very reason I had for doing laundry in the first place somehow slipped my mind.

Apparently I’m very forgetful in my old age.

Speaking of being forgetful…

I decided after doing laundry that I needed to go for a walk. My kitchen was looking kind of bare so I thought I would go to Wal-Mart to get some groceries and some other things that I needed for my house.

Now, I had very specific things that I knew I needed to get.

I guess I don’t have to tell you that I ended up purchasing maybe half of them.

Let’s see…I forgot Band-Aids, cheese, eggs, garbage bags, and…and…oh man. There was something else…nope…it’s gone. I quit.

There was also something that I needed to return to Wal-Mart (I bought the wrong kind of ink cartridge for my printer the last time) but do you think I remembered to bring the receipt? No.

So clearly, I need some solutions for my old lady issues.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far.

1.  To take care of my sore muscles, I just keep Voltaren on my nightstand. (Which isn’t weird, I swear…all the kids are doing it)

 

2. For my forgetfulness, I’ve discovered a wonderful invention: the sticky note.

I write down everything that I need to do or buy or remember on a sticky note and I stick it to a surface that I know I either walk by or touch everyday.

For example, I need my student card to get into the gym, and I always forget it…so:

Bam! Right on the light switch!

I was writing an outline for an essay and I kept coming up with really great ideas that I needed to keep track of…so:

Bam! Sticky note flow chart right on my bedroom wall!

I needed to remember to print off an assignment in the morning…so:

Bam! Right on the alarm clock!

I needed to remember my grocery list and I knew it needed to be stuck to something that I look at everyday because I might not shop for a week…so:

Bam! Stuck it to the mirror on my wall…now every time that I look at myself, I see my grocery list. It’s perfect.

Now you may be thinking: “Wow, she fixed all her problems with no help from anybody else! Impressive!”

But the truth is, I do have one more problem:

What happens when I run out of sticky notes?

Oh yeah, that’s right…I’ll forget to buy more because I won’t have any sticky notes to write it down on…

(Sigh). It never ends.

 

Leave a Reply

