The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

31 Oct

                             

Halloween is one of my favourite holidays.

A time of year when you’re encouraged to scare kids and eat all the candy you can handle (and then some) is all right by me.

My love for Halloween started when I was pretty young.

As a kid, I’d get really into my costumes. I went as a princess, a cavewoman, a movie star, a boxer….and then I got older and thought that my costumes needed to be scarier.

So, I came up with the best and most innovative costume idea that I’ve ever had: a two-headed vampire.

Yup…apparently a vampire with one head just wasn’t gettin’ it done for me.

I also loved scary movies as a kid. Scream, Halloween, When a Stranger Calls, The Ring, Signs, anything with Freddy or Jason in it…I’ve seen them all.

(Which reminds me, I really need to ask my parents why they let me watch so many horror movies as a child…)

So with such a long history of loving Halloween, I should be overjoyed that it’s almost here, right?

Wrong. I just don’t feel like I’m in the Halloween spirit this year.

What’s changed?

Oh yeah, that’s right. I’m in university now.

But I don’t think that my enthusiasm is fading because I’m getting older.

I think the real reason I’m not as excited is because I experience Halloween 24/7.

Not sure what I mean? Well, let me explain. Here are some classic Halloween images – the equivalent of what I’ve been seeing here at UTM.

1) Zombies.

You can always tell when it’s midterms or someone has a big test coming up. People walk around looking sleep-deprived from pulling all-nighters to study. They shuffle around campus half-dead, just like zombies. I bet if you got close enough you would be able to hear some groans…(or they might try to eat your brain…you know, to digest some of your knowledge…chew on some of your ideas…get a taste for your thoughts…okay, I’m done.)

2) Vampires.

What do vampires do? They suck the life out of you. Hello midterms.

3) Haunted houses.

Living with neighbours means that I sometimes hear muffled noises on the other side of my walls. Or….maybe I just tell myself that it’s my neighbours and my house is actually haunted….creepy, right?

4) Carving pumpkins.

I have always put a lot of effort into my jack-o-lanterns. I would get this really creative idea for my pumpkin’s face, carve it, make a huge mess, get pumpkin gunk all over myself, and then whine when I have to clean up. Sounds a lot like me trying to cook my own meals…

5) The annoying horror movie protagonist that never does what you tell them to do even though you yell at the TV screen repeatedly.

I just got back a couple of my tests that I wrote. I became incredibly annoyed at a couple of my answers on questions that I had gotten wrong. I knew the answers…I KNEW them, but I was probably nervous so I got them wrong…stupid, stupid, stupid! Yup. I’m that girl that gets scared and isn’t thinking straight so she goes to investigate the creepy noise even though the smart thing to do is stay put and stay calm. I can only hope that on the next test I will listen to the voice inside my head yelling “NOOO! DON’T DO THAT! ARE YOU NUTS!? WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT?!”

So there you have it: My list of things that remind me of Halloween, even when it’s not Halloween.

But, you know, I could be wrong.

I might just not be that into Halloween this year because I haven’t had time to think about it with all the tests and quizzes and assignments and essays…

Huh. Maybe I was onto something with that two-headed vampire stuff…

Life with two brains could make university a whole lot easier.

Leave a Reply

