Who Knew?

4 Oct

 I’m learning that there is really a lot I don’t know about living on my own.

I’ve been in UTM res for about 4 weeks now, and last night was my first “house check”.

For those of you that don’t know, a house check is basically where your Don comes into your townhouse and makes sure that it isn’t a pigsty.

                                               

I can assure you that I’m not a messy person. My house does not look disgusting enough for pigs to call it home. (Although, since our garbage wasn’t picked up this week, it might smell like we have a pig living with us…)

I’m a bit of a germaphobe. I like things clean. So I thought that taking care of my own townhouse would be easy because I have always been pretty good about keeping things neat and tidy anyways.

But there are a few things about maintaining a home that I didn’t realize.

For one thing, it’s been painfully obvious that chores don’t get done by magic (a.k.a my mom and dad).

Clean clothes don’t appear out of thin air.

I can’t make a request and then have a hot meal placed in front of me.

I can’t say, “Hey mom, I got a stain on my favourite jeans, can you take care of that? Maybe hand-wash the stained part before you throw it in the laundry? Thanks.”

I can’t say, “I’m cold” and have someone else get up and turn up the heat for me.

My bed doesn’t get made on its own….and the sheets don’t get changed and washed by themselves, either.

The garbage and recycle bins don’t get placed on the curb by 7am all by themselves.

The list goes on and on.

I feel like before I lived on my own, I only knew half the story about doing chores. 

I thought “Oh yeah, I can cook my own meals! Piece of cake!”….but what I didn’t realize was that it almost always takes longer to clean up and do dishes after you cook those meals.

I thought “Laundry? Oh yeah, I can figure that out…it’ll be done before I know it”….but what I didn’t know was that I own a lot of clothes that need ironing after being washed.

I thought that I could handle vacuuming….but I’m fairly tall (and old), so my back gets sore being hunched over! Who knew that you could injure yourself doing chores!

Who knew about all these add-ons? Who knew chores came with unexpected surprises? Who knew that housework is actually WORK?

WHO KNEW?! I’LL TELL YOU WHO: MY PARENTS! AND THEY DIDN’T WARN ME AT ALL! WHAT’S UP WITH THAT?! WAY TO PREPARE YOUR CHILD FOR THE “REAL WORLD”, MOM AND DAD!

But I could never stay mad at you guys. 

An apology in the form of a cheque to cover the new maid that I will be hiring will do just fine.  😉

Leave a Reply

