OH AWKS!

26 Sep

Calling all you UTM first-timers! I need to know: Have you had any awkward first year moments yet?

If you answer “NO”, you’re lying.  (We all have them from time to time).

But in a new place, in a new city, in a new life…things can get awkward more easily than usual.

You can get lost. (Which I did. But wandering aimlessly until I found the right room seemed to work….eventually).

You can meet someone new, then realize after talking to them for 2 minutes that you’ve already forgotten them name. (Which I’ve done, multiple times.)

You can walk into a lecture hall and see the one guy in the back of the room sleeping from the previous lecture. (Which I did. What do you do? Nudge him? Let him sleep? What?)

You can pull and push on a door a million times before you realize that you have to scan your T-card for it to open. (Which I did.)

You have to admit that even though you are in a program that is all about social media and communication technologies, you don’t have Twitter. (Which I don’t, and I’m supposed to be in CCIT).

And a classic:

You can awkwardly trip up the stairs. (Which I haven’t actually done yet, but I expect it to happen in the near future. It always does.) 

So what awkward situations have made you feel like a first-timer, even though you’re trying your hardest to look like your more experienced than that? Share them with me! (I need some way to feel better about my own awkward moments!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

