Confessions of a Chronic Procrastinator / Napper

1 Nov

Current time: 12:52 a.m. on a Thursday night.

Do I have class in the morning? Yes.

What am I still doing up? Well, I’m pretty much just hating myself for waiting until the last possible moment to finish my bio assignment.

What’s my excuse? Simple: I forgot it was due.

To be honest though, even if I had remembered that I had to do it, I wouldn’t have done it…I had to study for my 3 midterms this week. So it’s safe to say that a little biology assignment would have gotten pushed to the bottom of my to-do list anyways.

So now you know that I’m a bit of a procrastinator…but I have another confession: it is way, WAY past my bedtime. It’s almost 1 o’clock in the morning for crying out loud!

I like my sleep. I really, truly think that it is important. I’ve always felt a bit ahead of my time in this respect. I love to nap in the middle of the day and I love it when I get a good night’s sleep. I’m 80 years old at heart.

My friends have always known that I like my naps. They also know that I have a strict bedtime. Whenever I text them past 10 p.m. they think something is wrong.

In fact, a little while ago, I texted my friend around 11 p.m. and he immediately commented on the fact that it was past my bedtime. Being a little insecure about my elderly-woman-habit, I of course denied the fact that it was past my bedtime, even though it was. He then went on the tell me that he knew that I would have to double up on my naps the next day to make up for it.

My argument? “I’m a mature university student now! I’m an adult! I don’t need to take naps!”

Was this statement true? Absolutely not.

Naps are the best. They are so refreshing and relaxing…but I’ve been so busy lately with studying for my midterms that I haven’t been able to indulge in my guilty pleasure for a long time. Too long.

I realized last night that I have been far too study-focused this past week. It’s been intense. It can’t be healthy to lock yourself in your room with nothing but your textbooks and notes for the better part of a week. I thought I knew that, but I let myself get wrapped up in midterm stress; something I vowed that I wouldn’t do.

I made this realization when I had yet another conversation about my sleep habits with my best friend from high school.

She texted me around 10:30 p.m. and I told her that I was studying. She was amazed that I was still awake (of course). In high school she was kind of like my life coach/ therapist/ overall motivator. She tried to get me to kick my procrastination habit and to do all my homework and assignments well before the due dates.

So naturally, I figured that she would be proud of me for staying up to study for my midterm, but the reply of “Good girl!” that I was expecting turned out to be a piece of advice that I needed to hear. It snapped me out of my weeklong study/zombie mode and back into my old self.

She said:

“Go to sleep, bro.”

Thanks, bro. That’s all I needed to hear.

Leave a comment